Comic Book Pitch: Defenders of the Multiverse

I originally intended this to be a post about how Marvel should revive the Defenders team, but I guess they already have it planned with a Defender comic series featuring the same roster as the Netflix Series: Luke Cage, Daredevil, Jessica Jones, and Iron Fist.

While I like the idea(I would like to see Punisher, Elektra, and maybe Moon Knight on the team, but otherwise…) I also think they should take advantage of the upsurge of interest in the Defenders name and create another book, most likely connected to this new one, that features a more traditional Defenders roster. I call it Defenders of the Multiverse and here’s my pitch.

Roster:

Dr. Strange: Dr. Strange was one of the founding member of the Defenders so it would be nice to see him return. It would be interesting to see how he would work on the team now that he’s lost some of his magic

Namor: Also another founding member of the Defender

She-hulk: With Bruce Banner killed in Civil War II and Jennifer Walters about to get her own series simply titled Hulk she would make a great edition to the team.

Valkyrie, Silver Surfer, Ghost Rider: Three mainstays of the Defenders who would make good teammates. I wouldn’t mind seeing the return of the Johnny Blaze version of Ghost Rider.

Iron Fist: Iron Fist would provide a link with the main defenders team and it would be cool to see him teaming up with Dr. Strange and Ghost Rider, characters with mystic based powers also.

Mr. Fantastic and Invisible Woman: The Fantastic Four has disbanded. The Thing is with SHIELD. Human Torch is with the Inhumans, but what about Mr. and Mrs. Reed Richards. The last time we saw them was at the end of Secret Wars when Reed set out to recreate the Marvel Multi-verse, which is part of why he brings together this new team of Defenders, to help him defend the Multi-verse

Infamous Iron Man(Victor Von Doom): If the ongoing Infamous Iron Man series is any indication Victor Von Doom is trying to become and hero and what better way to do this than team-up with some other heroes to defend the Multi-verse,plus and uneasy alliance between the former Dr. Doom and Mr. Fantastic would be fun to see.

Story Line Pitch: Reed Richards and his wife Susan, who have gone off to reconstruct the Multi-verse have returned  to Earth when a new threat to the multi-verse(Kang the conqueror or one of his many alternate versions) emerges. They decide to assemble and team including their archnemesis Victor Von Doom to travel with them across the Multi-verse and fight Kang the Conqueror.

Anyways that’s my pitch for a new Defenders comic. What do you guys think and do you have any ideas of your own?

Latest Comedy Set:

This is a set I did last week for a open mic at my local VFW. It is probably the shortest set I’ve done.

 

Weekly Comic Pull List:

What I got last week:

Detective Comics #946: I’m still enjoying the series

All-star Batman #6: I was excited for the Mr. Freeze storyline and so far I’m enjoying it. Perhaps even more than the opening Two-face arc.

Poe Dameron #10: Not much to say beyond that I’m still enjoying this series

God Country #1: I wasn’t planning on picking this one up, but I thought I would check it out and I’m glad I did.

What I’m getting this week:

Trinity #5: I’m not sure about this series, but I will probably pick up this issue and see if it can keep my interest

X-files #10: I’m a pretty big fan of x-files which is the only reason I’m still reading this series

USAVengers #2:  I enjoyed the first issue, so I’m going to keep reading it.

Dr. Aphra #3: Out of the three ongoing Star Wars series I feel like this one is probably the weakest, but I’m willing to give it another chance

 

What are you picking up this week?

 

 

Currently:

Watching(TV): Game of Thrones(Season 2), The Comedians

Playing: Super Star Wars

Reading: A Feast of Crows by George R.R. Martin and Restaurant and the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

Listening to: Departure by REM

Writing: My Arrested Development Screenplay.

 

That does it for me. See you next time

 

 

Author: timmiller1213

I'm a stand-up comedian and aspiring writer. Also a huge fan of Arrested Development

2 thoughts on “Comic Book Pitch: Defenders of the Multiverse”

Leave a Reply

